+1
Answered

Details about "Delete account"

Ryann 5 years ago in Usability & Interface • updated by Vladimir Mullagaliyev (co-founder) 5 years ago 6
As admin of a project, if you click on the "User profile" of one people from your community, you discover two links: "Block user" and "Delete account".

I did not dare to test it to see the result ;-) (maybe a bubble as tooltip would be helpful) but I'd like some precisions about what does "Delete account".
1- I guess it simply removes the user from our community (and does not delete his UserEcho account?). Is it so?
2- Does it delete all his feedback too?

3- I guess he can come again with the same still existing UserEcho account?


Regards,

Answer

Answer
Answered

At this moment deletion works as following.


1) User - UserName replaced with Anonymous

2) User - Email replaced with blank value.

3) All user content is exists but linked with Anonymous user.

Answer
Answered

At this moment deletion works as following.


1) User - UserName replaced with Anonymous

2) User - Email replaced with blank value.

3) All user content is exists but linked with Anonymous user.

Clear, thank you.

What about my point #3:

this (deleted) user can come back and post new feedback without changing his account, right?

User will able to create a new account. But it can't access previous account with it's content.

Ohhh, that's more severe than I imagined.
Then I am quite puzzled.
I imagined that the "UserEcho" account was unique (one sign-up), but could sign-in in several communities.
Then, concerning one community, if the "deleted user" can not come back to this community again, it's not only a "deletion" (or renaming as anonymous) of its past actions... It's a sort of ban?

Then what is the difference with "Block user" that has a meaning of ban for me?


Any further information to understand the difference between "Delete" and "Block" use, that both look like ban the user?
Block - ban user. You are able to unblock him later.

Delete - remove information about user account. User name will be replaced to "Anonymous", email will be deleted. User will not receive any notifications.