+2
Under review

Allow agents to "check out" a helpdesk item

Shaun A Kranish 3 years ago in New features • updated by Terry Gauchat 2 years ago 3
I was wondering if anyone else thought it would be helpful for support agents to be able to "check out" a support item. Right now help desk messages/items can be assigned to someone, but when they are new and unassigned I think it could be helpful with high volumes of support for agents to click an item and have it checked-out some way so that other people are soft locked out. This would help prevent 2 people from working on the same item.

The checkout/lockout could also be overridden with perhaps another permission allowing users to override lockouts and take a lockout away from another user.

My company is small, but we plan on growing. I could see this becoming an issue, and perhaps its an issue others are having or a feature others would like to see? What do you think? Lock out should be separate optional button - separate from user assignment. Or there could be a setting to automatically lock out on click.

Answer

+1
Answer
Under review
Hello Shaun,
This is a good idea. We are going to implement some features to support multi-agent wokr with same object. For example, if some agent answering to the topic that was answered in last few minutes by other agent we will show some message.

For now, If you have a small team you can give "assign" rights to your agents. Each agent can assing topic to himself to start work with. If other agent will try to assign it he will see a message that topic is already assigned.
+1
Answer
Under review
Hello Shaun,
This is a good idea. We are going to implement some features to support multi-agent wokr with same object. For example, if some agent answering to the topic that was answered in last few minutes by other agent we will show some message.

For now, If you have a small team you can give "assign" rights to your agents. Each agent can assing topic to himself to start work with. If other agent will try to assign it he will see a message that topic is already assigned.
+1
That sounds good - something/anything to prevent two agents doing the same thing. Maybe once an agent starts typing it can do some sort of lockout or message to another agent (Another agent - So-and-So - is replying to this topic) when he/she opens or tries to type or something. That should save duplication :)

Thanks for the reply!

This is a common feature in competitive software, so hope it's on the roadmap. Thanks!