0
Answered

UserEcho accounts with same e-mail

laboxideale 4 years ago in Usability & Interface • updated 4 years ago 5
A user, that has forgotten his UserEcho password and did not manage to follow the "Forgot your password" procedure... created a new UserEcho account with a new name, but with the same e-mail address.

Then the community has two accounts sharing the same e-mail address. This gives some questions:

  1. Does it imply future problems?
  2. How will work the "Forgot your password" link sent to the e-mail address? It will only concerns the second and most recent account, the first one being unreachable for ever?
  3. Is there a way to "merge" the useless second account into the first one to gather all the feedbacks as one single person?

Answer

Answer
Answered
Hi,
1. No
2. User will receive 2 emails (one for each account).
3. Sure, user are able to merge account with the same email. User should has confirmed email and open his profile settings. If you have a few accounts with the same email it looks like on picture bellow:

GOOD, I'M SATISFIED
Simply great
Satisfaction mark by laboxideale 4 years ago
Answer
Answered
Hi,
1. No
2. User will receive 2 emails (one for each account).
3. Sure, user are able to merge account with the same email. User should has confirmed email and open his profile settings. If you have a few accounts with the same email it looks like on picture bellow:

Our concerned user seems not to find this merge function.
My there be a problem with simple user account concerning this function (you may be a privileged user)?
Is there a way to do it for him ourselves, as community admins?
Please provide us links to user's accounts that should be merged. We will check why user doesn't see that and will do it.

Community admins can not do it because it located in user's settings and related to user profile.
Thank you very much for having merged the two accounts notified by private message.

By the way, I noticed a consequence in the statistics overview:
- the "merged" account seems to appear in the registrations stats with name "anonymous"
- when you click on this user... unlike other "standard" users, it links to no relevant page
=> It took some time for me to realize it could be the account that has been merged into the second one.

Wouldn't it better to have more obvious information, like these ideas:
- really remove the closed (and merged) account from the statistics?
- rename this account "merged" instead of "anonymous"? Or maybe keep the original name and add "-merged" at this end?
- make the "anonymous/merged" profil link in the stats go to the second account to which it has been merged?
Or any other solution that would make thing easier to understand.

Regards.
Hi, thank you for your suggestions.
We've hidden this accounts from statistics, because they are deleted.